//
you're reading...
Living With Cerebella Ataxia

This is Where the Second Half of My Life Begins

We leave for London and the biggest week of my life to date. The treatment that my wonderful Doctor, Prof. GG thinks will not only save, but change my life begins on Sunday.

A lot has gone wrong in my life, heartbreaking tragedy that could have ruined my time before it had really begun, and then at 36 this horrid disease….

But. I wouldn’t change a single day. I am luckier than most people and I just know it’s all going to work out in the end. Well, it couldn’t fail to given my beautiful wife and son, family and friends…

This song sums it all up.

The only baggage you can bring
Is all that you can’t leave behind…

And if the darkness is to keep us apart
And if the daylight feels like it’s a long way off
And if your glass heart should crack
And for a second you turn back
Oh no, be strong

Oh, oh
Walk on, walk on
What you got, they can’t steal it
No, they can’t even feel it
Walk on, walk on
Stay safe tonight

You’re packing a suitcase for a place none of us has been
A place that has to be believed, to be seen
You could have flown away
A singing bird in an open cage
Who will only fly, only fly, for freedom

Oh, oh
Walk on, walk on
What you got, they can’t deny it
Can’t sell it, or buy it
Walk on, walk on
You stay safe tonight

And I know it aches
How your heart, it breaks
You can only take so much

Walk on…
Walk on…

Home…
Hard to know what it is, if you never had one

Home…
I can’t say where it is, but I know I’m going
Home…
That’s where the heart is…


And I know it aches
And your heart, it breaks
And you can only take so much

Leave it behind
You got to leave it behind

 



 
 

About dermotrathbone

Writer and co author "Through Red Lenses". Activist Unite the Union, Save Our NHS Hull. Fan of Yorkshire County Cricket Club, Hull FC, Munster and Ireland Rugby. Views are mine alone and may not reflect the organisations concerned.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “This is Where the Second Half of My Life Begins

  1.  Giood

    Posted by Miranda | September 6, 2007, 11:20 am
  2.  Hmm, interesting, that’s not what I typed. Let’s try that again:
     
    Good luck, mate – I hope it does the trick. You of all people deserve it.

    Posted by Miranda | September 6, 2007, 11:21 am
  3. We’re on our way, the only way is up now fella, 

    Posted by Michael | September 6, 2007, 2:41 pm
  4. All we need now is Morrissey to do a gig at Brid Spa so we can have a repeat of 6th September 2004. Blimey – three years ago as yesterday.

    Posted by Richard | September 7, 2007, 8:02 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 898 other followers

Archives

