//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

“Love Is Stronger Than Death”

I bored generations of hapless and captive school kids with my political and philosophical ramblings, which included this piece of genius from Matt Johnson, summing up my beliefs on Life After Death. 

I fully intended to conclude my eulogy for my Dad on Friday by reading the excerpt below, but my nerve failed me, as the power and meaning of the words are so overwhelming due to their simple truth. 

Total love and respect to all concerned on Friday. Despite it all I am blessed and once this surreal episode is over I will be Back in the World buoyed in no small measure by the strength gleaned from those aforementioned friends and family. 

Me & my friend were walking
In the cold light of mourning.
Tears may blind the eyes but the soul is not deceived
In this world even winter ain’t what it seems.

But, awoken by grief, our spirits speak
“How could you believe that the life within the seed
that grew arms that reached
And a heart that beat.
And lips that smiled
And eyes that cried.
Could ever die?”

Here come the blue skies Here comes springtime.
When the rivers run high & the tears run dry.
When everything that dies.
Shall rise.

About dermotrathbone

Writer and co author "Through Red Lenses". Activist Unite the Union, Save Our NHS Hull. Fan of Yorkshire County Cricket Club, Hull FC, Munster and Ireland Rugby. Views are mine alone and may not reflect the organisations concerned.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 898 other followers

Archives

